|Keweenaw Upper Entrance||Seeing The Light|
In 1874, to assist in safely guiding ships into this cut, a large gabled two-story brick dwelling with attached square 33 foot high brick tower was constructed on the west bank at the entrance to the canal. With increasing use of the canal, silting became a major problem, and tolls were levied for its use in order to cover the continuing expenses for repairs and dredging.
For reasons as yet undetermined, the original lighthouse was replaced with the existing fifty foot square steel Art Deco style tower at the end of the breakwater in 1950.
Keepers of this
It was a drab and raining morning when we set-out from Houghton to follow the road West along the waterway.
As we pulled away from town, we could see a number of old mining industry structure on either shore of the waterway. At one point, a seaplane took off and quickly disappeared into the low hanging clouds.
As we reached the end of the road, we could see the lighthouse at the end of the breakwater on the opposite shore. The structure is located approximately twenty feet from the end of the riprap breakwater, and thus would be impossible to reach. It is evident that a seaworthy boat is going to have to be added to our compliment of lighthouse hunting equipment if we are to capture many of these fascinating structures from a close-up vantage point.
The Upper Entrance light is of a strangely "Art Deco" design, indicative of the period in which it was constructed, and while it lacks the charm of many of the older lights, the stark white tower and bright red base have their own undeniable charm.
Finding this Light
This page last modified 01/25/2002